• Student FAQ- Waitlists
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Student Frequently Asked Questions


Waitlists


What are waitlists?  Are they different from hold lists? 

Waitlists are different from hold lists used at UMBC up to now.  All students need to learn about the new waitlists.  Here are the key features: 
Some instructors will permit students to place themselves on a waitlist once the course reaches capacity and closes. * *Students are moved off the waitlist and enrolled into the class by an automated process once space becomes available.  Students are enrolled in the class according to their position on the waitlist. By placing yourself on the waitlist, the student assumes responsibility for potentially being enrolled in a class.  If your name rises to the top of a waitlist and you are automatically enrolled in a course, you will receive notification by e-mail.   
Waitlists replace hold lists.  Hold lists will no longer be available.    
 

Do all classes have waitlists?

No, not all classes will have waitlists.  This is a choice made by the instructors and academic departments.

  

How do I get on a waitlist for a class? 

When adding the class during registration, check the box "Waitlist if class is full" and continue the enrollment process.  If the class has a waitlist, you will be notified of your position on the waitlist after you have completed registration.    

  

Is there a limit on how many waitlists I can be on?

You will be able to waitlist for up to 10 credit hours.  If you are on several waitlists and attempt to add one that would raise your total above 10 credits, the system will not allow you to join that waitlist unless you remove your name from one of the waitlists you joined earlier.

     

How will I know that I have been moved from a waitlist to a class?

You will be notified via your umbc.edu email address that you have been enrolled in a class from a waitlist.  It is your responsibility to check your umbc.edu email account regularly to see if you have been enrolled into a class for which you placed yourself on the waitlist.

  

How do I remove my name from a waitlist?

Log on to myUMBC > Undergraduate Center,

Click Student Schedule/Register for Classes,

Locate the class from your Class Schedule,

Select Drop from the menu,

Follow the directions on the page to complete the Drop process.

Note: If you decide that you do not wish to be enrolled in a class for which you are on a waitlist, it is important to take the time to complete this drop process. If openings do become available there is a chance that you WILL be enrolled in the class as long as you remain waitlisted for it.

  

If I forget to remove my name from a waitlist and I find myself automatically enrolled in the course, may I drop the course from my schedule?

Yes, you may drop the course and are strongly urged to do so immediately to free up that seat for another student.     

              

Do I have to "hold open" the time slot for a class if I put my name on the waitlist?

Yes, you do need to leave open the time slot for a class when you put your name on the waitlist.  If you are enrolled in a class that conflicts with the waitlisted class, when a seat becomes available in the waitlist class you will be skipped over on the waitlist and the next person down the list will be automatically enrolled.  Therefore it is important to keep the time slot fully available.  Even a 15 minute overlap between course times will cause the system to skip past you to the next person on the waitlist.  

   

Where can I find my status on the waitlist of a class?

Navigate to Student Schedule >  My Class Schedule and review status details for the desired class.  

  

When does the waitlist stop enrolling students automatically into a class?

The automatic enrollment from the waitlist will cease at the close of the 5th business day after classes have started.   

After that date, a student may be admitted to a closed course only if granted an exception by the instructor. 

    

Will the waitlist process automatically enroll me in a course even if I am not eligible to take it because I have not completed the prerequisite courses,  I have already taken a more advanced course in the sequence,  or I have already attempted it two or more times?

Yes, it will.  If you have satisfied the "permission required" feature, if applicable, and have no time conflicts, the registration system will register you for a course even if it is not appropriate for you.  This means that you must carefully plan your courses, working with your advisor.  If you do not choose your courses carefully, you may find yourself asked to leave the class on the first day when the instructor checks your prerequisites or your repeat history.  Or, you may take a course that does not actually fulfill the requirement you hoped it did. 




 

Back to FAQs


 



























  • No labels