Don't See What You're Looking For?

Help Us Improve

Browse by Collection

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Show Me

TIP: Keeping export/archive packages in a Blackboard course can contribute to course bloat. We strongly recommend that faculty delete packages from the course Export page after downloading or before running a new export. Each package counts against the course quota and keeping packages may result in limited space to add additional content to the course.

Tell Me

  1. Navigate to Control Panel at the bottom of the sidebar on the left.
  2. Select Packages and Utilities and then Export/Archive Course.

    Note: If the user does not select the module (Home) page for export the process will result in an error ("Error: The link entitled "COURSE_DEFAULT.BulletinBoard.MODULE.label" will not be exported because the object which contains this link cannot be located"). This error is non-fatal and can be ignored.
  3. Click the appropriate button (Export or Archive).
    • If you want to transfer materials to another course, choose Export. 
    • If you want to preserve an exact replica of your course, including student enrollments and work, choose Archive. NOTE: Only DoIT system administrators can "restore" an archived course to the Blackboard site.
  4. At the next screen, scroll to Section 2: File Attachments. Be sure to select the appropriate File Attachment settings:
    • Faculty can choose to copy only the links to the files or copy the links and create new copies of every file attached to the course. These files may exist in or outside the course shell.

      Course Export Decision Table
      If you are exporting from a master course or template, choose
      If you are exporting from a previously delivered course, chooseIf you are exporting from a course for another Bb server or for your records, choose

      Course Files Directory - Copy only links to course default directory files  

      Files Outside of the Course Default Directory - Copy only links to files stored outside of the course default directory  

      Course Files Directory - Copy links and include copies of the files in the course default directory 

      Files Outside of the Course Default Directory - Copy only links to files stored outside of the course default directory    

      Course Files Directory - Copy links and include copies of the files in the course default directory  

      Files Outside of the Course Default Directory - Copy links and include copies of the files outside of the course default directory 

      What does this mean?

      No files are actually included in the export. The export will have the same links as the source with links that point back to the original location as defined in the source. 

      Since the source is a master course or template, the links should be relatively stable.

      What does this mean?

      This will make copies of linked files, but ONLY those files that are linked. Files within the course’s home folder that are not linked to any content within the course are not included in the copy. 

      If you think you have files that may exist outside your course directory, it's a good idea to review your content and make sure everything is associated to the course itself, a master course, or Box. Once a course is retired off Blackboard, the content links will break.

      What does this mean?

      This will make copies of ALL files in the course’s home folder whether those files are linked to course content or not. For example, if you had a lecture you no longer use, but it's still in the Blackboard course, then that file will be exported.

      You will need to manage permissions on items to include copies of these files. If you do not have permission configured, your students may not be able to access some files when the course is imported. If any content was originated in another course that was assigned to another instructor, you will not be able to export the content unless those permissions have been updated.


       

  5. Click the Calculate Size button to see how large your exported file will be.


    Anything bigger than 2 GB will have problems exporting and will not be importable to any course or server due to file upload limitations within the Blackboard application itself. If you are using the export function to prepare for a new semester, you can either use the Manage Package Contents to remove files from your course or use the Course Copy tool instead.
  6. Under Section 3, Choose the sections you wish to include.
    • Select All is ideal. This setting will gather all content areas, tests and rubrics, files and settings.
      • If you do not Select All, you must choose at least one of these areas: Content, Contacts, or Settings for the course copy to function. If you do not select one of these options, a warning appears
      • If you are selecting any content area with existing assignments and tests, you must also choose the Grade Center Columns and Settings for those items to deploy properly. Otherwise, you will have to recreate all of the assignments and redeploy all of the tests.
  7. Submit the form. Look for a message in a green bar at the top of the page saying that the action has been queued.


     
  8. Check your email for a message from Blackboard that the process has been completed. Depending on the size of your course, this process could take up to an hour.
  9. Navigate back to Control Panel > Packages and Utilities > Export/Archive Course
  10. Click the link to download the zip file to your local computer. 
     
The file name consists of the course ID and the date/time of export. If you find that your browser automatically unzips the package, try to use SAVE AS to your computer or use another browser.

Recommended Articles:

How do I import prior course content into my Blackboard course shell?

Rate this Article

Feedback: Correct or Suggest an Article | Request Help