Don't See What You're Looking For?

Help Us Improve

Browse by Collection

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

There are two options for managing permissions: Adding permissions to existing settings or changing permissions on existing settings.

Adding Permissions to Existing Settings

  1. In the Content Collection, navigate to the folder or file.
  2. The action bar menu provides 4 settings:
    1. Select Specific Users - Choose a specific user in Blackboard to access the content.
    2. Select Specific Users by Place - Choose specific courses/orgs, or groups within courses/orgs, to access the content.
    3. Select Roles - Choose a specific role (e.g., student, instructor) to access the content.
    4. Permit Anyone - Public access, including external to the system (however, a link to the content is still required).



  3. Next, set the permissions by selecting the check box next to the Permissions type.

    Type of PermissionPrivileges
    ReadView and download
    WriteEdit and overwrite

    Upload files and folders to a folder 

    RemoveDelete files from the folder or the folder itself
    ManageControl properties

    Determine permissions on the Manage Permissions page

    Instructors, teaching assistants and course builders have full permissions (read, write, manage, and remove) to a course folder.

    • To read or view a file or folder, users need Read permission.
    • To copy a file or folder, users need Read permission for the source file or folder (and all its files and subfolders) and Write permission for the destination folder.
    • To move a file or folder, users need Read and Remove permissions for the file or folder (and all its files and subfolders) and Write permission for the destination folder.

     

  4. For folders, select the Overwrite check box to make these permissions changes for all folder contents and sub-folders and replace all existing permissions. When you do not select Overwrite, the selected permissions are added to all folder contents and sub-folders, but previously existing permissions are not removed.
  5. Click Submit

Files inherit permissions from the folder they reside in. This means that if a file is added to a folder that already has read and write permission for certain users or user lists, the those same users will also have read and write permission on the newly added file. 

Changing permissions on existing settings

  1. In the Content Collection, navigate to the folder or file.
  2. Click the Permissions icon for the file or folder. 

     

  3. On the Manage Permissions page, access the contextual menu next to the role in the User/User List column by clicking the action arrow. Click Edit.  

    Delete removes the role and the permissions for the file or folder. To restore a deleted role, click a function on the action bar.


  4. On the Edit Permissions page, select or clear the check box next to the Permissions type. For folders, select the Overwrite check box to make these permissions changes for all folder contents and sub-folders and replace all existing permissions. When you do not select Overwrite, the selected permissions are added to all folder contents and sub-folders, but previously existing permissions are not removed.
     



  5. Click Submit