After a person becomes unafﬁliated with the university, their account is deactivated based on the afﬁliation they had. A deactivated account has all access removed and cannot be used to log in, it also cannot receive email. Nothing else about the account is changed. After the account has been deactivated for some time, the data stored in the account (ﬁles, email, web pages, etc.) becomes eligible for deletion. Although the data is deleted, the username is never deleted and will never be reused by a different owner.
|Affiliation to University||Time Until Deactivation||Time Until Deletion|
|2 Weeks||1 Year after Deactivation|
|Emeritus Faculty/Staff||After 1 Year of Inactivity||Never|
|Retirees||After 1 Year of Inactivity||Never|
|Alumni||After 1 Year of Inactivity||Never|
|Former Students (non-Alumni)||4 Months||1 Year after Deactivation|
|Others (special programs, etc.)||2 Weeks||3 Months after Deactivation|