Don't See What You're Looking For?

Help Us Improve

Browse by Collection

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Tell me

Faculty are not restricted at this time from adding other users to their Blackboard courses. Please review this FAQ -> How do I add a teaching assistant, second instructor, or guest to my Blackboard course?However, sometimes an instructor may get an error message when attempting to manually add a teaching assistant or other user to a course.

This error may occur for one of two reasons:

  1. The student was previously enrolled in the course, but dropped – as a result, s/he is now disabled in the Blackboard course roster. The student may also be waitlisted for the course, but the drop overrides access.
  2. The instructor has inadvertently added the username twice when updating the Enroll Users field – as a result, Blackboard cannot add the same person twice.

Resolving a Disabled Student

Only a Blackboard system admin can re-enable the student to bypass the enrollment audit protections. Please verify the student has dropped the course, then open an RT ticket with the student's username, your course ID, and the reason for requesting the student's restoration to your Blackboard course shell.

Resolving a Double Username

This error occurs because the instructor has inadvertently added the username twice. The first time happens when the username is entered in the field (see #1). The second time happens if the browse button is clicked and then the username is selected again (see #2).

When the overall Enroll Users page is submitted, the error message "You do not have permission to enroll user(s): USERNAME" will display because the username is a double entry.

Instructors only need to enter the username in the box one time -- then click Submit. The browse box should only be used to search for a TA if the instructor does not know the username already.

Feedback: Correct or Suggest an Article | Request Help