Your instructor must enable Group Conversations for the assignment. Once your instructor enables conversations for your group, your group will be able to access conversations which can be sent to the members of your group or the whole class.
When a group member has posted to the conversation, an icon appears next to the assignment title on the Course Content page to indicate new activity.
Click on the assignment to open the assignment details. You will see two icons: The Conversations and the Collaborate icon. The Conversations icon will take you to your group's discussion thread(s). The Blackboard Collaborate icon will take you to the Blackboard Collaborate room that is only for the members of your group for a virtual meeting.